ASEAN power authorities convene in Danang

10:36 | 24/06/2011
The 27th meeting of the Heads of ASEAN Power Utilities/Authorities (HAPUA) was held in Danang on June 23, discussing measures to boost cooperation in energy among regional countries.
The meeting on June 23 (Source: VNA)

At the meeting, ASEAN senior officials decided important issues on the cooperation strategy in the area among ASEAN member countries, transferred the chairmanship of the HAPUA Council to Vietnam and elected Brunei as deputy chairman.

They also discussed a potential restructuring of the HAPUA organisation.

Within the meeting framework from June 20-23, the eighth meeting of the ASEAN power network connectivity committee chaired by Thailand, and the 14 th meeting of the HAPUA Coordinating Committee took place.

Apart from 10 ASEAN member countries, the meeting drew delegates from the HAPUA secretariat, the Asian Development Bank (ADB), the ASEAN Secretariat, the ASEAN Centre for Energy, and observers.

The annual meeting is rotated among the ten ASEAN members in alphabetical order.

ASEAN comprises the countries of Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.


What the stars mean:

★ Poor ★ ★ Promising ★★★ Good ★★★★ Very good ★★★★★ Exceptional

Based on MasterCMS Ultimate Edition Ver 2.9 2020